Press

Voiles & Voiliers – CAPE COD pour beacher chic

Voiles & Voiliers – CAPE COD pour beacher chic - Rosewest

Sailing on a very chic dayboat is a very narrow agenda, but one that the Cape Cod meets in every respect.

Presented at the Grand Pavois last year, the Cape Cod returns in a simpler and more homogeneous version. Its programme is even clearer: to take advantage of a sailing basin for day trips in good weather, sailing on a yacht with traditional lines without the constraints of the complicated maintenance inherent in these boats. Here, the occasional wood panelling and teak deck are protected under an awning at the end of the day. Don’t worry about rain, the Cape Cod is self-bailing (via the daggerboard well). For beaching, the heavy daggerboard is raised with a hoist. Simple;

The crew, up to eight people, sits on a circular bench seat leaving the helmsman in control of the manoeuvres thanks to the two winches placed in front of him. Jib sheets, furling system and daggerboard, he can do everything without disturbing his guests (except the mainsail halyard which remains at the foot of the mast). The space below deck is used as a shelter to store equipment or to change clothes. Two berths (quite large but recessed below deck and separated by the daggerboard well) allow two people to consider coastal camping. Access is via a large Plexiglas deck hatch, the only tasteful feature on board.

Under sail, the balance at the helm is exemplary. And without excessive heeling. The boat keeps its trim thanks to its width and its ballast (240 kilos in the bottom and 240 kilos in the centreboard). There is no need to go out on the abseil, the Cape Cod is not designed for it, nor for racing. We prefer to approach the beach and beach to have the pleasure of contemplating his beautiful boat from the land.

 

Source : Voiles & Voiliers

Presse

Voiles & Voiliers – CAPE COD pour beacher chic

Voiles & Voiliers – CAPE COD pour beacher chic - Rosewest

Naviguer sur un Dayboat très chic un programme très étroit mais auquel le CAPE COD répond en tout point.

Présenté au Grand Pavois l’année dernière, le CAPE COD revient dans une version plus simple et plus homogène. Son programme est encore plus clair : profiter d’un bassin de navigation pour des sorties à la journée par beau temps, en naviguant sur une voilier aux lignes traditionnelles sans les contraintes de l’entretien compliqué inhérent à ces bateaux. Ici, les quelques incontournables boiseries versnies et el pont en teck sont protégés sous un taud en fin de journée. Pas d’inquiétude pour la pluie, la CAPE COD est autorvideur (via le puit de dérive). Pour l’échouage, la lourde dérive se relève à l’aide d’un palan. Simple;

L’équipage, jusquà huit personnes, prend place sur une banquette circulaire laissant la maîtrise des manoeuvres au barreur grâce aux deux winches placés devant lui. Ecoutes de foc, enrouleur et dérive, il peut tout faire sans gêner ses invités (sauf la drisse de grand-voile qui reste au pied du mât). Le volume sous le pont sert d’abri pour stocker du matériel ou se changer. Deux couchages (assez larges mais encastrés sous le pont et séparés par le puits de dérive) permettent d’envisager un camping côtier à deux. On y accède par un grand panneau de pont en Plexiglas, seule faut de goût du bord.

Sous voiles, l’équilibre à la barre est exemplaire. Et sans gîte excessive. Le bateau conserve son assiette grâce à sa largeur et à son lest (240 kilos dans les fonds et 240 kilos dans la dérive). Inutile de sortir au rappel, le CAPE COD n’est pas pensé pour, ni pour la régate d’ailleurs. On préférera s’approcher à ras de la plage et beacher pour avoir le plaisir de contempler sa belle embarcation depuis la terre.

 

Source : Voiles & Voiliers